Aboriginal Education Advisory Council

We acknowledge the unceded territory of the Coast Salish people who allow us to gather in their territory.

The Council was formed in June 2002 to provide JIBC with a link to Indigenous communities in order to make recommendations and provide guidance to enhance services, improve retention and ensure the success of Indigenous learners in JIBC programs. Membership includes Elders and members of diverse Indigenous communities - professional content experts in a range of areas relevant to the JIBC mandate; Indigenous students, and alumni. Members are appointed by the President & CEO,  Dr. Michel Tarko, in consultation with the Office of Indigenization and Council.

Council Members

  • Elder in Residence: Ken Pruden, Métis, Corrections Service Canada
  • Dr. Tina Dion, Barrister and Solicitor
  • Colleen Hodgson, Director of Education, Métis Nation BC
  • Joanne Jefferson - Justice Manager, Sto:lo Nation, Qwi-qwelsom Justice
  • Dave Seaweed - Aboriginal Student Services Coordinator, Douglas College
  • Blaine Wiggins, Superintendent, BC Ambulance Service
  • Lori Pruce Director, Aboriginal Programs and Relationships, Corrections Branch, Ministry of Public Safety and Solicitor General, Province of British Columbia.

Staff members include: the President and CEO, the Vice-President, Academic, and representatives from the Office of Indigenization.

Last updated September 18, 2017